EGen2023 Overview

The 3rd European Conference on Aging & Gerontology (EGen2023)

July 13–17, 2023 | Held at SOAS & University College London, UK

We are very excited to host The 3rd European Conference on Aging & Gerontology (EGen2023), the sister conference to The Asian Conference on Aging & Gerontology (AGen), which has been held in Japan since 2015.

IAFOR has joined efforts with The Bartlett Real Estate Institute at UCL, UK, the National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA) at the University of Michigan, the IAFOR Research Centre at OSIPP, Osaka University, Japan, and academic leaders and thinkers of all disciplines from a wide range of prestigious institutions to host a conference that brings together all disciplines to discuss one of the greatest challenges humanity currently faces: the ageing of the population. Scholars from practically every discipline are welcomed to bring their perspective, as ageing involves almost all aspects of humanities, science and policy. With thematic streams covering many disciplines such as the built environment, frailty, loneliness, the silver economy, and others, EGen2023 will again provide a great opportunity for researchers.

The European Conference on Aging & Gerontology (EGen) is an interdisciplinary conference held alongside The European Conference on Education (ECE), The European Conference on Language Learning (ECLL).

We look forward to meeting you in London and online.

– The EGen2023 Programme Committee

Key Information
  • Location & Venue: Held at SOAS & University College London, UK
  • Dates: Thursday, July 13, 2023 ​to Monday, July 17, 2023
  • Early Bird Abstract Submission Deadline: February 24, 2023*
  • Final Abstract Submission Deadline: April 28, 2023
  • Registration Deadline for Presenters: May 31, 2023

*Submit early to take advantage of the discounted registration rates. Learn more about our registration options.

Back to Top


Back to Top


Back to Top

Conference Committees

Global Programme Committee

Dr Joseph Haldane, Chairman and CEO, IAFOR
His Excellency Professor Toshiya Hoshino, Osaka University, Japan
Professor Barbara Lockee, Virginia Tech., United States
Professor Donald E. Hall, Binghamton University, United States
Dr James W. McNally, University of Michigan, United States & NACDA Program on Aging
Professor Haruko Satoh, Osaka University, Japan
Dr Grant Black, Chuo University, Japan
Professor Dexter Da Silva, Keisen University, Japan
Professor Gary Swanson, University of Northern Colorado, United States
Professor Baden Offord, Curtin University, Australia
Professor Frank Ravitch, Michigan State University, United States
Professor William Baber, Kyoto University, Japan

Members of the IAFOR Board of Directors and The Academic Governing Board are standing members of the Global Programme Committee. Members of the IAAB are consultative members.

Back to Top

Conference Programme Committee

Conference Chair

Evangelia Chrysikou
Evangelia Chrysikou
Bartlett School of Sustainable Construction
University College London
United Kingdom

Conference Programme Committee Members

    Marilyn Aviles, Institute of Healthcare Engineering, UCL, United Kingdom
    Dimitrios Buhalis, Bournemouth University Business School, United Kingdom
    Dorina Cadar, Brighton & Sussex Medical School, United Kingdom
    Stefano Capolongo, Polytechnic University of Milan, Italy
    Carina Dantes, SHINE 2Europe, Portugal
    Eddy Davelaar, Department of Psychological Sciences, Birkbeck, University of London, United Kingdom
    Isaiah Durosaiye, School of Architecture, University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
    Joseph Falzon, Centre for Research & Innovation, Malta
    Ava Fatah, Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL, United Kingdom
    Joseph Haldane, The International Academic Forum (IAFOR), Japan
    Paul Higgs, Faculty of Brain Sciences, UCL, United Kingdom
    Fernando Loizides, School of Computer Science & Informatics, Cardiff University, United Kingdom
    Christina Malathouni, School of Architecture, University of Liverpool, United Kingdom
    Paul McGarry, Greater Manchester Combined Authority, United Kingdom
    James W. McNally, University of Michigan & NACDA Program on Aging, USA
    Elena Petelos, Faculty of Medicine, University of Crete, Greece & Faculty of Health, Medicine & Life Sciences, Maastricht University, Netherlands
    Haruko Satoh, Osaka University, Japan
    Eleftheria Savvopoulou, SynThesis Architects, Greece
    Anastasios Tellios, School of Architecture, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
    Georgios Tsakos, Institute of Epidemiology & Health Care, UCL, United Kingdom
    Chariklia Tziraki-Segal, Hellenic Mediterranean University, Greece & Melabev: Community Club for Elders, Israel
    Antoinette Vietsch, Politician (Former MP), Architect, Healthcare Planner, the Netherlands
    Greg Williams, University of Manchester, United Kingdom

Back to Top

Conference Review Committee

IAFOR's peer review process, which involves both reciprocal review and the use of Review Committees, is overseen by conference Organising Committee members under the guidance of the Academic Governing Board. Review Committee members are established academics who hold PhDs or other terminal degrees in their fields and who have previous peer review experience.

If you would like to apply to serve on the EGen2023 Review Committee, please visit our application page.

Back to Top

Event Partners

The European Conference on Aging & Gerontology (EGen) is run in partnership with The Bartlett Real Estate Institute at UCL, The National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA) at the University of Michigan, USA, and the IAFOR Research Centre at Osaka University.

Back to Top

Event Supporters

Back to Top